Weather vs. Me

It’s been warming up lately. It’s like summer finally got off its ass. Sunday was hot, and so on Monday I wore my more ventilated jacket and my Kevlar lined jeans instead of the aerostitch. It was a smart move and the ride home in the close to 100 degree heat was tolerable.

Tuesday it was much cooler than predicted, but I still rode in my jeans and jacket, and despite it being much cooler, was still comfortable. This morning I checked the weather as usual and thought since it was supposed to be the same as Tuesday I would wear my stitch instead, since it wasn’t hot, and it’s better protection.

I was feeling quite smart as the ride this morning was some chilly fog for most of the 25+ miles, and I would have been miserable in jeans. Feeling pretty smart I was claiming a 3-0 start on the weak. However I’m going to have to say that really we’re at 2-0-1… It was close to 100 again coming home! The weather was cheating by jumping 40 degrees in 9 hours! The ride home was not that pleasant. Thankfully it always cools off near the reservoir!

Well the game starts anew tomorrow…

=)

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weather vs. Me

  1. ughh… hot… as soon as it’s humid and hot (cuz it’s GA) my jacket stays at home. I hate it. But, I’ve tried everything and humidity + heat = heat exhaustion. 😦 I guess I don’t have to ride on those days.

    anyway…glad you found a solution…

    • cynic13th says:

      Having never ridden in really humid weather I have no idea how awful it might be… sounds horrible.
      So far though I’ve never been so hot that I did not want my gear. Guess I’m lucky to be in CA? Last year when doing our 2k mile road trip we just stopped for water and shade a bit more often.

      • I wish I could just stop and cool off. But, since sweating doesn’t really work when it’s humid, your body core has a hard time cooling off. But, when you’re riding without a jacket, at least the wind helps increase evaporation and you start cooling off. That’s the problem… but yeah, I *hate* riding without my jacket. But, I will ride without it if it’s too humid.

Leave a Reply

