There and Back again a Lobbiest’s Holiday

In a hole in the ground there lived a…

Wrong story.

The ride to the Capitol was good. A bit chilly but nice, I like riding in the early morning. Traffic wasn’t too bad and I made really good time. I kept with the flow of fast traffic which meant I was riding faster than I normally do. On arrival I changed into my miraculously still nice looking shirt and tie, and spent the day being uncomfortable both in clothing and situation. I did have a nice lunch with a long time friend, but otherwise a long day.

The ride home started bad. I was trying to make a left and turn and as changing lanes into the turn lane was hit by a car (or I hit him depending on how you look at it.) he was in my blind spot and his wheel hit my foot peg and bent it. It was the only damage, and after him yelling at me… and me pretty much ignoring him, we decided to let it go. I’m not sure who would have been declared at fault, and I just wanted to go home.

The rest of the ride was ok. I was pretty sleepy for the first 50 miles but just as I was thinking about stopping for some caffeine it cooled off a bit and I was feeling much more awake so I just kept going and was fine for the rest of the ride home. I did have to lane split from the middle of the Bay bridge until 280, which was a bit stressful (about 7 miles).

Just as I was getting to my exit my gas light came on. 202 miles. When I filled up I was pleasantly surprised to find that I got a bit over 60 mpg. Not bad for something that goes 0-60 in less than 4 seconds 😛
So I take the bike into the shop tomorrow anyways to get the damage fixed for the guy who backed into my bike, and I’ll have them fix my peg on the other side while they’re at it…
*sigh*

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to There and Back again a Lobbiest’s Holiday

  1. web_pony says:

    In a hole in the ground there lived a…

    aww… no middle earth story?
    it’s funny b/c I misread the title and thought “Hobbit’s Holiday”

    congrats for surviving shirt & tie & yet more motorcycle mayhem
    vitamin and organic carrot lovers thank you

  2. glad to hear that you are ok…

  3. web_pony says:

    spent the day being uncomfortable both in clothing and situation

    must have missed this the 1st read through,
    what does one do while ‘lobbying’?
    I know our coworkers made the trek up to the Capitol each year, just not really sure what happens…

Leave a Reply

