My Helmet

My helmet will be two years old sometime soon, since I got it as an early birthday present in 2006. It is the Shoei RF-1000 Orange Piccotte.

I had a Z1R thing for a few months as my first helmet, but quickly learned that it did not fit me the way it should and after trying on a lot of helmets I found the Shoei’s fit best.
PRO:
The Fit is the best I’ve worn and stays comfortable all day.
Graphics are awesome and the finish is awesome.
Quick release visors are easy to switch and even with daily use still just click in and stay.
Different sized Cheek pads rock to get a snug fit which is nice on a naked sport bike.

CON:
No removable liner, which sucks cause I would like to wash it easier. (Instead I started using a skull cap which works really nice for keeping headphones and earplugs in as you put your helmet on)
It’s pricey, $469. New Visors aren’t cheep either.

Over all I love it, and will most likely get another.

Course this begs the question of how often you should replace a helmet, what is old in years, or use?

Edit: It died in this crash. It took it like a champ! I ordered another Shoei the same day as the crash, this time an X-11.

Click to go back to the Motorcycle Gear Page

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Helmet

  1. Pingback: The MOTORCYCLE GEAR INDEX | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

