Stranger in a Parking Lot

I was parking my bike the other day, and after I got off I was inspecting my chain for looseness since the throttle seemed a bit hesitant. This guy walks up and complements me on my bike. (It’s a Ducati it happens) I thank him and of course he rides and was noticing the not stock mirrors and seat and it becomes clear that he knows his Ducatis :). I mention that the seat had to be replaced since after 200 miles the stock one is torture.
“After 200 miles? How many miles do you put on that thing?”
“Um 15000 in the last year, and I’m riding to LA this Wednesday.”
“Your riding to LA on a naked motorcycle?”
“Yeah,… It’s not that bad. I mean the wind holds you up and…” He looks at me in disbelief. “Really it’s not bad” I say.

The conversation moved on to different motorcycles from there.. and that I really only ever wanted a faring to help with the cold. But he said in disbelief at least twice more. “I can’t believe your riding to LA. (on that)”

I laughed. It was his parting comment as I wished him well with his riding.

Really it’s not that bad.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stranger in a Parking Lot

  1. web_pony says:

    Really it’s all just what you are used to doing… I mean if you are used to a sedan or sports car, driving a CJ-4 down I-5 is just a different thing altogether (or a ’69 VW Bus for that matter).

    It’s all in the joy of the doing, right?

    I think you will have a blast and I am a bit jealous not to be doing the same ride 🙂

    Ride safe – have fun – I wanna hear all about it.

    (Please say you are gonna take pics – even if w/ your cellphone – grin)

    • cynic13th says:

      (Please say you are gonna take pics – even if w/ your cellphone – grin)
      Thank the Plant guy.

    • cynic13th says:

      Did you see the pics? There are a few more, but nothing really that nice or post worthy.
      The plant guy loaned me his camera.. worked great, but I still need one of my own.

      • web_pony says:

        oh hey! looky there! 🙂
        hmm.. I really ought to check my LJ more, huh?
        All this new stuff going on while I’m away…

        LOVE the “More Glamour” one …
        you ought to post it to 😉

Leave a Reply

