My First “Big” Crash

Edit 10/29/2013: A few people have tried to see this lately and I noticed it was set for password protected. Not sure why I had it that way, here you are.

Ouch.

Well, part of me thinks I should quit while I am still alive. Part of me thinks quiting.. is for quitters.
I love riding. I don’t know what to do.
But practice is needed.. and well maintaining a safe breaking distance.

So another low side crash. this one was at at least 35mph.. maybe 40.
I have to say wearing gear is a must… I would be a lot of road rash if not for the gear. I might post pictures later.
So what happened?

This is copied from my posts on my Ducati Monster Club page.

My big mistake was following to close and not having an escape route… it was on a turn and into the setting sun (going west on 92) I talked to the driver of the car that was right in front of me, and she has no idea why the car in front of her slammed on the brakes. I saw nothing as I was looking far into the turn.. perhaps too far cause it seemed as if I was late noticing that the car in front of me was breaking. I locked up the front brake, and down I went.. luckily did not slide into oncoming traffic.

Ok this is a mess.. but I am done.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My First “Big” Crash

  1. web_pony says:

    Well, part of me thinks I should quit while I am still alive. Part of me thinks quiting.. is for quitters.
    I love riding. I don’t know what to do.

    I will only suggest to not make the decision to ride/not ride just after a crash. Wait and think it over after the adrenaline and depression corrects itself. 🙂

    Learning curves are annoying.

    After falling/being bucked off more times than I can think about, each time I remember HATING horses and the stupid horses they rode in on. I loved riding – I hated falling.

    I can honestly say that I have fallen/crashed/tipped over at least once every time I’ve been on my dirtbike (out on trails). Mostly just tipping over as it stalls out on a hillside – yippee. But I’ve washed out the front end several times too. Each time I felt like an utter fool and wondered why I was wasting my time & DH’s. This replays in my mind a bit each time I go to the MSF website. I guess it’s not a coincidence that it’s taken me so long to sign up.

    Fear is scary – it’d be crazy not to be afraid. But that’s also what keeps you safe too. Balancing that fear w/ doing what you love is all part of the fun 🙂

    (see upcoming pony-post for more on that)

  2. Pingback: Why I won’t buy a bike with out ABS… most likely… | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  3. Pingback: My Helmet | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  4. Pingback: The Story of the FrankenMonster | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  5. Pingback: Ten Years Ago: My First Crash | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

