Motorcycle Design: The Renaissance?

JT Nesbitt- A name some of you might recognize, and bonus points in my book if you do.

Something new and unique.

Something new and unique. Picture from NPR

If you don’t I’m still cool with you, but you might be wondering who he is. The short version is that he used to run Confederate Motorcycles until Hurricane Katrina put him out of business. Now he’s involved in a very interesting project with Jim Jacoby. I was lead to this story by my brother, which he found on NPR. If your interested in the details you should check it out.

Nesbitt and his Backer Jacoby are trying to do something very different with motorcycle design. Jacoby is giving Nesbitt carte blanche to design and make a motorcycle. They are building something radical. Designing something that won’t be sold, so it doesn’t need to conform to anyone or anything. This idea is a throwback to the start of the Renaissance and the Medici Family in Italy who gave money to artists to create whatever the artist wanted.

I’m interested by this whole thing since I think anything that’s moving motorcycle design along is exciting. The whole idea of giving a creator free reign to do what he wants is also very compelling. I’m just skeptical that the idea of the wealthy giving artists and craftsmen money to create whatever they want is a bit too… utopian? for me. I’m a cynic at heart and have trouble believing that more people with means will do this. I of course will be happy to be wrong.

No matter what I’m looking forward to any craziness that Mr. Nesbitt decides to try.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I'm closing in on 100,000 miles and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Motorcycle Design: The Renaissance?

Leave a Reply

