Dream a Little

So like any “normal” person I want another or a new motorcycle. Who wouldn’t?
Ignoring the reality that I can’t afford one, it is fun to look at all the options out there and pick the ones that I would want to fill my non existent garage with.

So I sat down and made a list of what is on my “thinking about” list. Basically a bike that I have either thought hard about getting, or have dreamed about getting lately. My next bike that I actually get has to fill quite a list of criteria:

  • ABS
  • Good Gas Mileage 45+ miles per gallon
  • Good/Decent Range (the closer to 200 miles the better)
  • Decent service intervals
  • Long distance comfort
  • Look decent with a Top Case
  • Pull at my Heart

All but the last are fairly easy to find. However, after owning a BMW that was ugly and tried to kill me, I have decided that I really do like to own a motorcycle that I like to look at as well as ride. I might be able to work with a bike that isn’t beautiful to me, but it really is something that has to be on the list.

So what are the bikes that meet most of these criteria above? Here are the ones that I would actually give some thought to buying.

You can tell I have a particular leaning toward a certain Italian Brand, what I say I like pretty things.  There are some brands not on the list. BMW is the only one that makes a bike I would think about buying… if it weren’t for all the bad history I have with the brand. The others just don’t make something that meets my above criteria. Buying a bike is an act of passion still so don’t expect me to be completely logical with this.

Well that was fun, but now I feel more broke than ever. I think I’ll go out for a ride to get my mind off things.

I'm going very fast in my head.

I’m going very fast in my head.

About Scott Otte

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I'm closing in on 100,000 miles and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dream a Little

  1. Sounds like your existing Monster is the fun bike for riding and looking cool on. What you need now is a second bike as something reliable, can outfit with lots of storage, good comfort, and great for long road trips. Looking at your list, the V-Strom?

    • Cynic13th says:

      Sadly I don’t have the space for more than one bike right now.
      Other than that you’re pretty spot on. The V-Strom is pretty tempting. I could prob find one with luggage used for a decent price.

Leave a Reply

