Fox Hill and Laguna Seca Adventures (it got long… so this is part one)

On September 28th  I rode down to Laguna Seca to watch the World Superbike races with my New York Friend. It has been a couple of years since I’ve gone to watch motorcycle racing at Laguna Seca. In fact I haven’t gone since the crash of 2010, and earlier that year when I tried to go I got the worst food poisoning ever. (Not from food at the track but from a nearby restaurant.)

I was pretty excited about going, camping on Fox Hill and seeing the races. So excited that I bought a new tent that would fit better on my bike. Still it’s funny how much stuff you can fit on a little Ducati Monster 620.

All my motorcycle adventures start here.

All my motorcycle adventures start here.

The ride down to the race was nice. We took the semi scenic route 280 to 17 to 1, but wanted to try and see some of Super Pole so we had to hurry since we did not get the earliest of starts. We did catch the very end of Super Pole… so I guess it was worth it.

The bike was running great, although it did seem to warm up much faster than normal and then I got a High temp warning when waiting at a light. I thought it was weird since it was 70 degrees out and we just gotten off the freeway. It cooled down immediately once we started moving but it worried me all weekend. Luckily I ran into my mechanic on Sunday and asked him about it. He said he put a different gauge on it since he did not have a Ducati one, and apparently it’s not playing nice with my dash.

Fox hill was shockingly empty when we arrived. Since this is the first time I’ve been to a WSBK race at Laguna Seca I wasn’t sure what to expect, but we had an amazing selection of places to set up camp. We still went for our usual area, just choosing the best of the level areas to set up our tents. Since it is hill… these are normally much harder to find.

It was fun setting up my tent for the first time. It’s very well designed and has some nice features. Like I said I haven’t been camping in ages, so everything about it was a bit unfamiliar, but it all came back to me quickly and it was great to setting up a camp again.

The home away from home.

The home away from home.

We then went down into the merchant area and checked it all out. We found it some what disappointing since there were so few vendors and motorcycle manufactures. We grabbed some lunch and then made our way out to the Cork Screw to watch the AMA bikes do their qualifying.  Then we made our way out to our favorite spot on the Hill between turns 4 and 10 to watch Race One for WSBK.

Race One ended up being a bit tough to watch. The big jumbo screens were acting up and cut out several times during the beginning of the race. Then the race was red flagged twice because of riders crashing and running into the air fences. Red flagged races need to be stopped then restarted. So we had two restarts with 15 minute delays in between, making for an uncomfortable and boring wait out in the hot sun. Over all though it was an exciting to the last lap race, just a bit drawn out.

After the race I went back to the tent to nap while my friend went for a run (don’t ask me he’s training for a marathon).

Later we headed to the wharf area of Monterey to meet up with more of our NYC friends for what ended up being a great dinner. After dinner my friend and I headed back to the track, finishing a great day by sharing a bottle of wine while catching up and watching the paddock glow in the distance.

This is enough for today I’ll post part two tomorrow!

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I'm closing in on 100,000 miles and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Ducati Monster 620, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fox Hill and Laguna Seca Adventures (it got long… so this is part one)

  1. Pingback: Laguna Seca Part Two | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  2. Pingback: The Year in Review 2013 | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  3. Pingback: Laguna Seca, Fox Hill and World Superbike: I’m on my way! | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

