Why I won’t buy a bike with out ABS… most likely…

Not that I’ll be buying a new motorcycle for myself anytime soon, but it’s nice to dream. Whenever I do finally get to buy an new motorcycle ABS brakes are definitely going to be on the wish list.

ABS also came up last weekend when I was talking to a friend who is thinking about getting into riding. I mentioned the fact that I really wanted ABS on my next bike and told him that for a new rider I pretty much think it’s mandatory. I just feel the extra safety that having ABS gives you is important and I want ABS on whatever motorcycle I ride.

I mean if I saw a good price on a 2005-6 Ducati 749 Dark in great condition… I would have to get it ABS or no. (This is one of my Dream bikes and for the sake of my marriage please don’t start sending me listings of them.)

Other than that bike it is pretty much a no go for me. Luckily most motorcycles have it as an option now.

My Deadly BMW had ABS one of the many things I liked about it.

My Deadly BMW had ABS one of the many things I liked about it.

This isn’t because I’m some safety nut, well I don’t think I am. I want to be as safe as possible while still being as fast as possible. I also like being prepared for the worst case scenario. It’s why I wear protective gear, it’s why I don’t drink any alcohol and ride.

Nothing happens in a vacuum, and I have come to this conclusion after much “testing”. I have had one crash, two er… falling over while moving that could have been prevented with ABS and one instance that I would have crashed without ABS in my 6 years of motorcycling. This is more than enough to convince me that ABS is a good thing.

Now I’m sure there are riders out there who can stop faster than ABS equipped bikes can. I know that I’m not one of these. I also know that in the rain or gravel (or in one case grass) I can┬álock up a wheel before I know it. In a panic moment I want the peace of mind that comes with knowing the bike will stop as fast as possible with out crashing.

Some might think that since they don’t have ABS on their car or motorcycle and never had a problem that ABS isn’t all that I’m making it out to be. To be honest I like having ABS on my car too (maybe I really am a safety nut) but there is a big difference between locking up your wheels on a car and on a bike. On one you increase your stopping distance and risk going out of control. On a motorcycle you crash. (unless you area really lucky/an amazing rider) Crashing is bad, I’ve had enough of those to last me a lifetime. If I can avoid some with technology… count me in.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I'm closing in on 100,000 miles and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why I won’t buy a bike with out ABS… most likely…

  1. I got ABS on my FJR and now that I think about it I have not locked up the breaks yet. I used to do it all the time with my old Shadow. I thought I was just improving as a rider but I guess its just the bike.

    • Cynic13th says:

      It could be the brakes are different too. I put different pads in my Monster with a bit less bite and it helped a lot with locking up. It also could be rider improvement. When I made the ABS kick in on my BMW it was pretty obvious.

  2. Pingback: The Monsters are fighting back! | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  3. Pingback: My Advice for Buying a First Motorcycle (because you asked for it… ) | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

