The Long Way Home

If you’ve read more than one post on this blog you’ve heard me mention my “long way home” ride. It’s my break in my week or day that always puts a smile on my face.  It adds about 20 to 30 minutes to my normal 25ish minute ride. It’s varied over the years as I’ve gained confidence and skill riding my motorcycle. In any form though it basically substitutes Skyline (Hwy 35) for 280 for as much as my ride home as possible. The changes are in how I get to Skyline from Palo Alto. When I first started riding I took Woodside Rd (Hwy 84) up to Skyline, and it was certainly twisty enough for a novice rider, and I did this for several years. Since then I have come to love taking Page Mill Rd all the way up and it is much more challenging and there for fun for my intermediate skills.

Enough talk. Here’s the map.

 

Writing this reminds me of the first time I rode up Page Mill, and I almost rode off the edge after getting too cocky after thinking I knew what the road was like. There are two turns that I really am not fond of that are pretty close to each other. The first is a uphill hair pin right hand corner, that is (for me) too steep to lean into and must be done in first gear. The second is not as bad but is a slightly less sharp left hand uphill hair pin that is off camber and a bit bumpy.  They are my constant challenge, everything else I can do with out feeling like I don’t know what I’m doing. Though speed and effort needed does vary by day.

 

About Cynic13th

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I'm closing in on 100,000 miles and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Long Way Home

  1. Nothing like the Long Way Around. Soon you will be knee dragging around the curves.

  2. Pingback: This is how it’s supposed to be | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

