The BMW Motorcycle Crash

Hopefully this will be the worst crash I will ever experience. Since any worse and I would very likely be dead.

I was heading south to LA, and I was traveling on Hwy 101 about 30 miles north of Santa Barbara when I felt a slight loss of power, as I glanced down at my dash to see what might be happening, I felt the rear wheel of my BMW locked up. I fish tailed for 30 or 50 feet before being high sided off the bike. I remember clearly earth, sky, earth, sky as I tumbled down the road, I also remember thinking “this could be really bad”. I slid to a stop in the middle of the road which is 2 lanes in each direction at that point. I immediately was looking for oncoming cars, and seeing people stop was reassuring, but I tried to get up and move immediately. My left leg said no, so I crawled/dragged myself toward the green… Once there I propped myself up against the railing took a deep breathe and took stock.

My left leg hurt but was not too painful, same with left arm/wrist, bike was laying in middle of road not burning, and I was conscious and alive.

Over all a win.

Several cars had stopped and were directing traffic and someone came over to ask if I was ok. I said yes and then who I found out later was a paramedic supervisor had arrived and repeated the question. By this time I had taken off my helmet and removed my earplugs so I could actually hear them clearly.

I watched as two guys tried to move the bike, and found the rear tire locked up, they needed three to get it too the side of the road.

Edit 12-2013: Here’s what I think happened years after the fact.

About Scott Otte

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I'm closing in on 100,000 miles and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The BMW Motorcycle Crash

  1. futurefound says:

    Holy crap man. I’m glad you’re well enough to post this. When you find out more, please post and let me know what happened. Are you just bruised and banged up? Anything broken? I hope your doing okay.

  2. !!! So glad you’re “ok” … meaning NOT dead.

  3. Pingback: A Cool Motorcyclist – Shinya Kimura – Chabott Engineering | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  4. Pingback: This is how it’s supposed to be | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  5. Pingback: What I think happened that day my BMW tried to kill me | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  6. Pingback: My Daily Gear | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

